Home

Click here to buy TICKETS  online now

Click on our   events diary  to see more

 

Saturday 24 September
last night of the proms – Abbey style!

 

The 2016 Festival

Wymondham Music Festival Fortnight returned for the 21st year from Friday 1 July to Saturday 16 July 2016. The annual Town Busking Day was also on the menu, taking place on Saturday 28 May, and there were two Market Place Music sessions on Saturdays 11 and 25  June.

Festival Fortnight kicked off on the evening of Friday 1 July at Central Hall with the Festival Ceilidh, featuring Whirligig. Then on Saturday 2 July, Wymondham High Academy officially launched Festival Fortnight in the Market Place with performances from the Academy Orchestra, Academy Singers, Jazz Collective, Brass Band, String Ensemble, Guitar Group, Samba Band and more.

The Festival’s largest event, the Jazz Picnic returned to Becketswell on Monday 4 July with Simon Nelson’s Dixie Mix, and the popular Teddy Bear’s Picnic for the under 5s were at King’s Head Meadow on Sunday 10 July.

Folk fans had a real treat; Hannah Sanders and Ben Savage were at Central Hall, supported by Wymondham’s own Johnny Steinberg & The Bluefish on Friday 8 July. Local talent featured at Wymondham Entertains, also at Central Hall on Thursday 14 July, followed by gutsy blues from Spikedrivers at The Regal (Ex Servicemen’s Club) on Friday 15 July.

The Abbey had a busy programme of concerts and recitals highlights include Wymondham Symphony Orchestra’s Summer Concert on Saturday 2 July, Lady Sings the Blues (music of Billy Holiday), Wednesday 6 July, Jazz at The Abbey, Renato D’Aiello Trio, Thursday 7 July,  Young Musicians’ Concert, Monday 11 July, Anne Vallins & Rob Goodrich, Violin and Organ Recital, Tuesday 12 July and Norwich Camerata, Wednesday 13 July.

The annual Music Lecture & Recital on Tuesday 5 July, at Wymondham Baptist Church, features Anna Mudeka talking about and playing the mbira, the instrument of her homeland, Zimbabwe.

Singers of all abilities are very welcome to join Wymondham’s Big Sing at Wymondham High Academy on Saturday 9 July and Sunday 10 July, culminating with a concert at 4pm on the Sunday.

Wymondham Arts Centre had a special exhibition celebrating 21 years of Wymondham Music Festival from Tuesday, July 12 to Sunday, July 17 (10am-5pm, Sunday 12noon-5pm).

Permanent link to this article: https://www.wymfest.org.uk/